Coed Middle School Cross Country JH, Coed Varsity Cross Country High School · Gilmer JH Meet Recap-

Unable to sleep in, after the exciting victory from Varsity Football defeating White Oak, the JH CC runners were up bright and early Saturday morning to compete in the Gilmer JH CC meet, hosted at Gilmer Elementary. Finally able to run in the cool morning, the JH girls and Boys were joined with 5 Varsity CC members to compete with 7th and 8th grade runners from all across East Texas. Yet, rocky footing and higher than normal temperatures would force the runners to adapt and compete. For the JH girls with most being gone to Volleyball, only two runners would take the line. And as 8th grader Riley Johnson would race to earn the top 10 medal, it was evident who SHCC was, and what they came to accomplish. Then for boys, after coming off with a second place finish from their last meet, the bar was set. Yet, with over 22 teams in the race, from 1A-6A, as well as Private and homeschool runners, the competition was stacked. But that did not stop the young runners from attacking each stride and racing hard. Allowing many to finish with personal records and some to find out that they could do it, and no matter what, even at the end with nothing left and teammates on both sides, they would discover there is always more than you think and your never alone. Runners would run the 2 mile course, which was quite torn up from Hogs and represent SH and prove that hardwork, teamwork, and heart go along way in achieving things. Results for Team awards have yet to be posted.

**Runners from JH & HS will compete this Saturday @Katy Ranch

JH Girls Results (175 total runners)

Riley Johnson- 14:10 10th place

Erin Hunnicutt- 22:30 142nd

JH Boys Results- (183 runners)

Nick Bodenhimer- 12:27 10th

Joseph Egbe- 13:13 18th

Jordan Hodges- 13:26 24th

Jaden Giddings- 14:00 36th

Cason Owens- 14:03 40th

Sam Lepire- 14:26 56th

Chris Arredondo- 14:52 72nd

Cole Secord- 15:22 92nd

Zen Estrella- 15:25 93rd

Jace Jones- 15:41 98th

Jackson Perritt- 16:08 108th

Zachary Schott- 20:12 175th